Dreadnots GFC

Founded 1885

Co. Louth

Club History

Club History
1887 - Twenty four teams entered the first Louth County Championship. In the 1st & 2nd Rounds, Clogherhead played Knockbridge and Tullyallen
Delegate at 1887 Louth Convention, John Dolan

1888 - Clogherhead play Stabannon Malachys, Dundalk Emmets, Dowdallstown and Dillons.
On 28th November, Delegated th the 3rd Louth Convention at Dubleer were Denis Rath and James Brady.

1890 - Louth GAA CLubs and Officers in Louth, as listed in the R.I.C. report for 1890, File no.273/2847, State Paper Office, Dublin:
Clogherhead Dreadnots, 50 members, Pres./Treas., Patrick Sheridan, Sec./Capt., Patrick Murphy. (Mulligan 504)

In 1951 the Club then affiliated as St Michaels, gained its first success in County Competition by beating Stabannon Parnells in the final of the Ranafast Cup. That trophy was presented to the winners of the League in the Second Division Grade. The club then went on to win that particular trophy on six further occasions. The Second Division Championship was eventually won in 1962 by defeating Fane Rangers from Channonrock. The club had reached the final of the Championship in 1959, 1960, and 1961 without success.

2nd Division Championship Winners

1962 - Oliver Tallon (Goal), James Conlon, Harry Reilly(Captain), Brian Kirk, Bendan O'Reilly, John Conlon, John Hamill, Kevin Kirk, Hughie Hamill, Gerry O'Brien, Gerry Murray, Gene Carragher, Peter Carragher, Johnny Jones, Olly Breen.

During its tenure in the Junior Grade the club failed to make any impact at that level and reverted to the Second Division Grade in 1970. This period witnessed a rebuilding programme which resulted in success in the Ranafast Cup in 1973 and the Championship in 1974.

1974 - Tom Tallon (Goal), Tom Corrigan, Anthony Dunne, Declan Levins, Padraig Rath, Kieran Smith, Ciaran Kirwan, Pat Lynch, John Connolly, Michael Matthews, Michael Lynch, Denis Kelleher, Pat McEvoy, John Mulroy, Dermot Campbell (Captain), Reserve: Gerard Levins for Padraig Rath

 The club returned to Junior Grade in 1975, winning the Macardle Cup in1976 by beating St Fechins.

Following a restructuring of the county championships the Club was regraded upward to the newly created Intermediate Grade in 1978. They have the distinction of contesting the first intermediate Championship Final, giving a good account of themselves, despite losing to Kilkerley Emmets. That year was the start of what many would regard as a very productive period in the history of the Club, culminating in winning the Intermediate Championship in 1986 by defeating St Martins from Monasterboice following a replay.

Club History extracted from Clogherhead through the Years, James Garry 2000



Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play